Friends of monmouth Battlefield

Schedule of Events 2012

Events in bold occur at Monmouth Battlefield State Park

Note: Meeting place for tours and programs dependent on status of Visitor Center construction project.

Jan 1, 2012 (Sun)

Park closed

Feb 5, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
Feb 11, 2012 (Sat)

Walking tour of the battlefield. Visit the Sutfin farm area and see where the “Black Watch” (42nd British Regiment) fought.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM  and drive to northern section of battlefield for tour.
Feb 12, 2012 (Sun)

Program on the role of Black troops in the Battle of Monmouth.

Held at 2 PM in the Visitor Center.
Feb 13, 2012 (Mon)

Walking tour of the central part of the battlefield. Visit the Parsonage farm area and see where “Mad Anthony” Wayne fought.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
March 4, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield (Hedge Row and Parsonage).

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
March 21, 2012 (Wed)

General Meeting. Program on “Women of the Army: The Role of Women Folk in the Continental Army”

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.
March 25, 2012 (Sun)

Visit the several sites claiming to be Molly Pitcher’s Well.

Drive to the heart of the battlefield to visit the different spots that have been claimed to be the location of Molly’s well. Tour will end at the new Molly Pitcher Overlook on Perrine Hill. Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
April 1, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
April 15, 2012 (Sun)

Driving tour of the battle area east of Freehold.

Visit seldom seen scenes of the morning portions of the battle (East Morass, Briar Hill, and the line of Lee’s retreat). Meet at 1:30 PM at Picnic Pavilion.
May 5, 2012 (Sat)

“Weekend in Old Monmouth County”
Open House at Monmouth Battlefield State Park 10 AM to 4 PM
Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
May 6, 2012 (Sun)

“Weekend in Old Monmouth County”
Open House at Monmouth Battlefield State Park 11 AM to 4 PM
Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
May 12, 2012 (Sat)

Spirit of New Jersey History Fair at Washington Crossing State Park

May 20, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the north side of the battlefield.

Drive to the north side and visit Perrine Hill and the new Molly Pitcher overlook. Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30.
May 27, 2012 (Sun)

Memorial Day observance at the Park, 2 PM.

**************************************************************************************
REVOLUTIONARY WAR DAYS IN MONMOUTH COUNTY
FOMB Programs June 3 to July 4, 2012

June 3, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield (Hedge Row and Parsonage).

Meet at the Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 6, 2012 (Wed)

Program on General Charles Lee’s role at the battle. Did he really deserve to be court-martialed?

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth. County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.
June 10, 2012 (Sun)

Driving tour to visit the Battle of Monmouth Monument in Freehold.

Meet at the Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
June 16, 2012 (Sat)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth for 2012 cancelled due to the Visitor Center construction project

June 17, 2012 (Sun)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth for 2012 cancelled due to the Visitor Center construction project

June 23, 2012 (Sat)

234th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 10 AM-4 PM.
June 24, 2012 (Sun)

234th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 11 AM-4PM.
July 1, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
July 4, 2012 (Wed)

Joint Program. “The Court Martial of Charles Lee,” by Jim Raleigh. “The Army Celebrates the 4th of July,” by George Dawson.

Held at 1:30 PM at the Buccleuch Mansion, Buccleuch Park, New Brunswick (located on Easton Ave., New Brunswick, NJ 08901).

**************************************************************************************

August 5, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
Sept 2, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM.
Sept 16, 2012 (Sun)

Program on the final stage of Lee’s Retreat. Drive to Wemrock Road and walk the line of the American retreat route from the Point of Woods to the Hedge Row. Visit the spot where Washington confronted Maj. Gen Charles Lee in one of the most famous scenes of the battle.

Meet at the Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM
Oct 3, 2012 (Wed)

Program on the Marquis de Lafayette’s role in the battle.
Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.

Oct 7, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM
Nov 4, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM
Dec 2, 2012 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Picnic Pavilion at 1:30 PM
Dec 5, 2012 (Wed)

Annual business meeting

Place and time TBA

Battle Announcement
Privacy Policy · Print This Page · Back to Top
© Friends of Monmouth Battlefield